WVRJ Authority Board

 WVRJA Board Meeting Schedule

  • The Western Virginia Regional Jail Authority meets on a monthly basis.
  • Meetings begin at nine (9) a.m. local time (unless otherwise listed) and the public is invited to attend.
  • The meetings will be held at the Western Virginia Regional Jail.
  • 5885 West River Road, Salem, VA, 24153.

WVRJ Authority Board Meeting dates are as followed:

  • January 5, 2023 
  • February 2, 2023 – cancelled 
  • March 2, 2023 – cancelled 
  • April 6, 2023 – cancelled 
  • May 4, 2023 
  • June 1, 2023 – cancelled 
  • July 6, 2023 
  • August 3, 2023 
  • September 7, 2023 
  • October 5, 2023 
  • November 2, 2023 
  • December 7, 2023
**Meetings are subject to cancellation**

WVRJ Finance Committee Meeting dates are as followed:
  • 01/23/2023
  • 02/21/2023 
  • 03/20/2023 
  • 04/17/2023

Authority Board Minutes

 Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes 

Franklin County                                                 Montgomery County

new Bill Overton

Bill Overton, Sheriff Member

new hank

C.H. Partin, Sheriff Member

New Duane Amos

Duane Amos, Alternate Sheriff Member

New Chris Whitlow

Chris Whitlow, Vice Chairman Administrative Member

B. Carter

Brian Carter, Alternate Administrative Member

New Ron Thompson

Ron Thompson, Elected Member

Tim Tatum

Timothy Tatum, Alternate Elected Member

Jason Cochran, Alternate Sheriff Member

A. Hill

Angela M. Hill, Secretary Administrative Member

New Craig Meadows

Craig Meadows, Alternate Administrative Member

Steve Fijalkowski

Steve Fijalkowski, Elected Member

New Mary Biggs

Mary Biggs, Alternate Elected Member

Roanoke County                                                 City of Salem

New Eric Orange

Eric Orange, Sheriff Member

New Steve Turner

Steve Turner, Alternate Sheriff Member

R. Owens

Rebecca Owens, Treasurer Administrative Member

Laurie Gearheart,                                    Alternate Administrative Member

P. Mahoney

Paul Mahoney , Elected Member

New Martha Hooker

Martha Hooker, Alternate Elected Member

A. Staton

April Staton, Sheriff Member

S. Garber

Steve Garber, Alternate Sheriff Member


Jay Taliaferro, Chairman Administrative Member

New Rosie Jordan

Rosie Jordan, Alternate Administrative Member

New Bill Jones

Bill Jones, Elected Member

New Randy Foley

Randy Foley, Alternate Elected Member

Authority Board Counsel                                    Clerk to the Authority Board

New Jim Guynn

Jim Guynn


Sarah Fox

Western Virginia Regional Jail Authority Board Members

The governing body of the Western Virginia Regional Jail is made up of representatives from the participating jurisdictions. Participating jurisdictions for Western Virginia Regional Jail are Roanoke County, Franklin County, Montgomery County, and the City of Salem.

Contacting Board Members

Correspondence for jail board members should be mailed to:
(Board Member Name)
Western Virginia Regional Jail Authority Board
5885 West River Road
Salem, VA 24153